Tuesday, October 12, 2010


The Southeastern Conference has agreements to send nine of its member institutions to
postseason bowl games following the 2010 season.

The winner of the SEC Championship Game will automatically participate in the Bowl
Championship Series comprised of the Sugar, Rose, Orange and Fiesta Bowls.

The Capital One Bowl has the second selection, making its pick following the BCS selections.

The bowl must select the team with the next best overall record or a team that is within
one win of the team with the next best overall record.

The AT&T Cotton and the Outback Bowls share the third and fourth selections from the SEC.

The Cotton Bowl has the first preference of teams from the Western Division and the Outback
Bowl has first preference of teams from the Eastern Division. The Cotton or Outback Bowl can
select teams outside of its divisional preference, but must not select them before the opposite
bowl selects from its divisional preference.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl has the fifth selection of preference from the SEC.

New to the SEC bowl rotation this year, the Gator Bowl has the sixth selection from the SEC.

The Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl has the seventh selection from the SEC.

In selections 8-9, the AutoZone Liberty and Birmingham Bowls share the selection over the
four-year agreement.

The 2010-11 SEC Bowl Schedule is as follows (all times Eastern / listed in chronological

Dec. 30 / 6:40 pm Franklin American Mortgage Music City vs. ACC ESPN
Dec. 31 / 3:30 pm AutoZone Liberty vs. C-USA ESPN
Dec. 31 / 7:30 pm Chick-fil-A vs. ACC ESPN
Jan. 1 / 1 pm Outback vs. Big Ten ABC
Jan. 1 / 1 pm Capital One vs. Big TEn ESPN
Jan. 1 / 1:30 pm Gator vs. Big Ten ESPN2
Jan. 7 / 8 pm AT&T Cotton vs. Big 12 FOX
Jan. 8 / 12 pm Birmingham vs. Big East ESPN
Source: SECSports.com

Follow Me...twitter.com/Talkin_SEC

No comments:

Post a Comment